Map of Young to Wagga Looping stage 2 project

To provide greater capacity within the NSW gas transmission system, we have duplicated the Young to Wagga Wagga pipeline. In 2010 we successfully completed Stage 1 of the project, from Bomen to Bethungra, and are now finalising Stage 2, from Bethungra to Young.

The Young to Wagga Wagga pipeline provides gas supply to the towns in the central south of NSW including Griffith, Cootamundra, Young and Wagga Wagga and enables gas transportation between NSW and Victoria. This expansion improves flexibility and security of supply.

The Young to Wagga Wagga looping pipeline project involved the construction and commissioning of a gas pipeline between Bethungra and Young that completes a looping (duplication), with an 18-inch pipeline, of the existing Young to Wagga Wagga Pipeline. The pipeline passes on the western side of Cootamundra and Young townships and is located in the Junee, Cootamundra, Harden and Young local government areas.

Current implementation status of the project

Construction of the project has now been completed. For general information regarding the project or any documents required by the project approval please contact us by:

Telephoning 1300 087 621 (free call 24 hours/7 days);

Writing to The Project Manager, APA Group, Level 14, 60 City Road, Southbank VIC 3006. Reference: Bethungra to Young Gas Pipeline Looping – Stage 2; or

Emailing us at

If you have any media related questions on the project, please email us at